If You’re Not From Vermont . . .

If You’re Not From Vermont . . . .

(a form change poem with thanks to David Bouchard, If You’re Not From the Prairie . . .)

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know the mountains.

The mountains!

The mountains covered in trees

With the roaming deer and bear,

Covered in snow for perfect sledding.

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know the blackflies,

You don’t know the mosquitoes!

You can’t know the perky bloodsuckers and their evil minds!

 

If you’re not from Vermont,

You don’t know me.

You just can’t know ME.

You see,

My nose is a mountain;

My eyes are boulders;

My lips are the bears’ caves;

My heart is a ladybug.

I’ve flown over the peaks with eagles.

I’ve eaten with bears.

My home is Vermont,

And I love the way it is.

 

About Cherie Blessing

My name is Miss Blessing, and I would like to welcome you to our class blog! Teaching is the calling of my heart, and I hope to set an example of tenacious engagement in learning this year. Let the Great Adventure begin!

1 Comment

  1. We enjoy your unique word choices so much in your writing. This piece made me smile. I love living here too!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *